Working through the stress

Posted: August 20, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

This week has been exciting, difficult, stressful, fun and crazy.  I have less than a week until I go to my first writer’s conference, Killercon and I have been busting my butt trying get my work ready to hopefully present/pitch at the conference.  I am so looking forward to going, but the stress of getting ready is starting to drag me down.  Not that I mind working hard to accomplish my goal of being a publish novelist and screenwriter, but today, at the end of a long week of real work (you now the work you go to M-F to get a paycheck to pay the bills,) creative work, and trying to have a bit of fun, is making me so tired and unproductive.  I have been working all day on trying to finish up a rewrite of one of my novels (okay not the whole novel but a section to present at the conference) and I am just out of steam.  I have the drive to want to do more, but for me just typing up this blog is an effort right now. 

I have tried using music, which usually is one of my biggest forms of inspiration and motivation, but today, I can’t move forward.  I guess part of me misses doing one thing, reading.  Since I have been pushing myself so hard on my writing, I have not had any time for down time of reading.  I miss reading.  To try to keep my mind from going crazy I have found myself checking out the local news on the net to read something, but that’s not helping much.  As much as I love to write, I believe without reading, my writing will NOT grow, so to go this long without really reading is driving me crazy.

What’s worse is I have 6 new books I just bought at Barnes N Nobles with gift card money (thanks Mom for the gift card) and I have the books at home, sitting where I stare at them if I am sitting on the couch.  Maybe tomorrow on the plane to San Fran I will have time to do some reading, if I am far enough done with my writing and editing. 

And that leads me to another reason I am feeling unmotivated.  I miss writing and creating.  I haven’t written anything “NEW” in the last two or three weeks except rewrites of my novels.  I miss creating worlds, characters, plots.  Maybe I should give myself a break and just write (oh wait that is what I am doing right now.)

I guess I am just starting to long for National Novel Writing Month, www.nanowrimo.org to get me back in the swing of writing nonstop for 30 days to hit a crazy goal, but I guess after tonight I will have enough work done on the rewrite of my novel Cat Scratched that I might have a bit of down time.

Okay off to edit this (ugh) and then post it.  Have a wonderful weekend and I keep telling myself, next week I only have to work Monday through Wednesday.  YEAH!

Comments
  1. Sarah G says:

    Your brain may be telling you it NEEDS that down time. Not all creativity happens on the conscious level. If you find it hard to get past your sense of creative ‘duty’, find a piece of fiction with a tangential connection to your own on the ‘factual’ level. A story set in the same town, for example, or a novel that also has a doctor protagonist (I’m new to your site from the Pill Hill Forum, so I don’t know much yet about your story foci).

    I love NaNoWriMo, too! What I really enjoy are the write-ins. Sitting in a group of people ALL working on their writing really motivates me. Even though we stop for talk breaks, I get more written during those sessions than any time block alone. If you participate this year, I go by ‘Kyrrdis’.

    • laurah213 says:

      thanks – I love Nano – I am in Vegas under LauraH213. I just need some extra sleep (very much needed down time) and some just free form writing, not editing which is a big down time for me, you know like Journalling or just allowing words to flow without really worrying about a plot coming together. Hope to see you around Nanoland.

Leave a Reply

