Inspiration found in and around my life

Posted: June 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

Okay I am a bad person I missed my critique group to meet up with a wonderful new friend and to see one of my favorite writers’s do a talk at the library.  It was Christopher Rice (son of Anne and Stan Rice) who has written wonderful books such as Destiny of Souls (2000) and his newest book The Moonlit Earth (2010).  Christopher Rice spoke beautifully about being an author, how he “gets his ideas” which only other writers could possible understand and he is grateful for all the opportunities he has had in is his life.

I spoke to Christopher after the talk and could feel his support for other writers out there, he even encouraged me to keep writing and keep trying.  He even agreed that writer’s conferences are good, even if you don’t walk away with a contract, you will get contacts and meet other writers who are going through the same thing you are.

He also spoke about how writers are cloistered away, hiding in the dark, tapping away on our keyboards, hoping for the words to flow into sentences, then into paragraphs, and finally completed stories.  He also talked about how great it is to have that first draft of a novel done.  He is right, the feeling of holding that huge stack of pages, all printed out on crisp white paper, ready to be marked up with revisions, changes and then completing the second draft.

I am inspired to keep writing, to keep trying, I may get some No’s, but I will still fight for another YES, and another one after that, and another, and another…. Oh you get my point.

I am still hopeful to achieve my goal and I am planning on submitting another story today or tomorrow, if I have enough time to finish it before I head out to dinner.  I am looking forward to tonight with friends and tomorrow night with a chance to speak to another not-local friend when his band, the Thomas Nicholas Band, comes into town to play at the Blue Martini – I can’t wait to see him play again and talk to him about my creative work and see if there is any chance of movement forward.

I will keep everyone updated on my progress.

Leave a Reply

